After weeks of planning and preparation, Davie County’s team leaves for Denver early Thursday morning to compete against 19 other finalist communities for the honor of being named an All-America City. 

The National Civic League’s All-America City Award has celebrated the best in American civic innovation since 1949. The award, bestowed yearly on ten communities (over 500 recipients in all), recognizes the work of communities in using inclusive civic engagement to address critical issues and create stronger connections among residents, businesses, nonprofits, and government leaders. 

This year’s theme for the All-America City Award is “Creating Thriving Communities through Youth Engagement.” The 2023 award seeks to identify communities that are breaking down barriers to meaningful youth participation and enacting programs that will improve the quality of life for youth and, by extension, all members of the community. Davie County’s application focuses on youth programs that build the civic capacity of young people, increase job readiness and employment opportunities and provide leadership opportunities.

Davie’s team of student rock stars representing IGNITE DAVIE, Davie Works/CTE, S.U.R.F. Board, and Davie Respect Initiative (DRI) worked hard over the weekend to perfect their presentation. They are supported by a team of their advisors, government and community leaders, and parent chaperones. 

In Denver, the team will have several additional practices, participate in workshops and roundtable discussions, and attend the civic fair and cultural entertainment showcase before presenting on Saturday morning. They will give a 10-minute presentation followed by 10 minutes of Q&A with the judges. The winners will be announced on Sunday night!

Representing Davie County for the All-America City Award 

C.T.E. – Grayson Haynes 
C.T.E. – Macey Smith 
C.T.E. – Journey Bowman
C.T.E. – Amber Lynde 
C.T.E. – Alyse Wooldridge, career development coordinator, Davie County High School
C.T.E. – Anthony Davis, director of CTE and Federal Programs, Davie County Schools
C.T.E. – Jinda Haynes, assistant superintendent for Human Resources, Davie County Schools 
C.T.E. – Jennifer Lynde, chief academic officer, Davie County Schools 
DRI – Ellie Prillaman
DRI – Sylas Johnson 
DRI – Sean Lane 
DRI – Julia Burazer, DRI advisor
IGNITE DAVIE – Merritt Killian 
IGNITE DAVIE – Carolyn McManamy, director of DavieCONNECT
S.U.R.F. – Brooklyn Lakey 
S.U.R.F. – Whitney DeLoach 
S.U.R.F – Tami Daniel, S.U.R.F advisor 
Bermuda Run – Andrew Meadwell, town manager
Bermuda Run – Melinda Szeliga, town board
Mocksville – Ken Gamble, town manager 
Cooleemee – Wendy Terry
Cooleemee – Dawn Mitchell
Davie County – Brian Barnett, Davie County manager
Davie County – Kelly Funderburk, register of deeds
Press – Jeanna White, Word Master Media Group 
Adult chaperones include Lisa Prillaman, Tiffany Johnson, Jacqueline Lane, Gregory Burazer, Suzanne Lakey, Hannah Meadwell, and Lisa Gamble. 

Check @daviecounty on Facebook June 8 – 11 for updates and pictures from Denver!  

Additional Resources