Davie County Fire Marshal’s Office
By order of the Fire Marshal, effective 12/01/2021, there is a zero tolerance burn ban placed on Davie County.
“It is fall wildfire season in North Carolina, and we are seeing wildfire activity increase due to dry conditions. With these ongoing conditions, a statewide burn ban is necessary to reduce the risk of fires starting and spreading quickly. Our top priority is always to protect lives, property and forestland across the state.” said Agriculture Commissioner Steve Troxler.
Due to increased fire risk, the N.C. Forest Service has issued a State-wide ban on all open burning and has canceled all burning permits statewide effective at 5:00 p.m. November 29, 2021 until further notice.
Under North Carolina law, the ban prohibits all open burning, regardless of any permits previously issued. The issuance of any new permits has been suspended until the ban is lifted. Anyone violating the burn ban faces a $100 fine plus $183 court costs. Any person responsible for setting a fire may be liable for any expenses related to extinguishing the fire.
Local fire departments and law enforcement officers are assisting the N.C. Forest Service in enforcing the burn ban.
The N.C. Forest Service will continue to monitor conditions. Residents with questions regarding a specific county can contact their N.C. Forest Service county ranger or their county fire marshal’s office.
This is to include:
• Any previously issued burn permits from ANY agent.
• Any fire pits used for recreation, except outdoor gas grills and gas heaters.
• Any fires started more than 100 feet from a structure or dwelling.
• Any land clearing projects previously granted burning permissions.
Answers to FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)
Q: What is open burning?
A: Open burning includes burning leaves, branches or other plant material. In all cases, burning trash, lumber, tires, newspapers, plastics or other non-vegetative material is illegal.
Q: May I still use my grill, barbecue or gas heater?
A: Yes, if no other local ordinances prohibit their use.
Q: How should I report a wildfire?
A: Call 911 to report a wildfire.
Q: How should I report a person who intentionally starts a wildfire?
A: Call 911 to report a wildfire.
Q: My local fire marshal has also issued a burn ban for my county. What does this mean?
A: The burn ban issued by the N.C. Forest service does not apply to a fire within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling. Local government agencies have jurisdiction over open burning within 100 feet of an occupied dwelling. The N.C. Forest Service has advised county fire marshals of the burning ban and has asked for their consideration of also implementing a burning ban. If a fire within a 100-foot area of a dwelling escapes containment, a North Carolina forest ranger may take reasonable steps to extinguish or control it. The person responsible for setting the fire may be liable for any expenses related to extinguishing the fire.
Q: Are there other instances which impact open burning?
A: Local ordinances and air quality regulations may impact open burning. For instance, outdoor burning is prohibited in areas covered by Code Orange or Code Red air quality forecasts. Learn more about air quality forecasts at https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/airquality/
Q: Can I have a campfire when I go camping?
A: Campfires would be considered open burning and are not exempt from the burn ban. During a burn ban, portable gas stoves or grills are alternate methods for cooking food while camping.
Q: What can I do to protect my house against the risk of wildfire?
A: Learn about wildfire risk assessments and preparedness and prevention plans on the N.C. Forest Service website
at https://www.ncforestservice.gov/fire_control/fc_wui.htm or https://www.resistwildfirenc.org/.
114 Dr. Slate Drive Mocksville
North Carolina 27208
Resources for More Information
- View the Cancellation of Burning Permits and Implementation of a Burning Ban from N.C. Forest Service
- View the Notice from the Davie County Fire Marshall’s Office